Three things I want to do every day for the rest of my life.

Breaking the ice

This may be the most ambitious thing I’ve ever done.  To try to put into words the rush of thoughts in my head seems overwhelming, but my wife, Nicole, has convinced me to take this leap of faith.  When I would write extensive essays or research papers in college, I would most often begin by writing my body paragraphs and save the writing of the introduction until very last.  It seemed easier that way, knowing exactly what I was introducing by that point.  I don’t have that luxury in this case; partly because the body of my thoughts is massive and constantly evolving, and partly because whatever I post first is my introduction whether I like it or not.  I want what I share and write to be compelling and have decided that my only chance to achieve that outcome is to be as genuine and honest as possible.  Choosing my name and tagline for this blog was the easiest part of all.  In simple terms, those three words, ‘think, love, do,’ are values that I cherish and aspire to grow in daily.

I should mention that if I put the words in order of priority, that ‘love’ would have come first.  But for whatever reason, think.love.do had a better ring to it, so that’s that.  A few years ago, I painted the quote “Everything you do, do with love,” above the whiteboard in my classroom as a reminder for me (and maybe some of my students) to be mindful of what I say and do.  Ultimately, the three are intertwined and must all be present and working in unison for me to be living the life I envision for myself.  I want to love what I do.  I want to do the things that I think should be done.  I want love to guide my thoughts.  And I want to be great at each of them…thinking, loving, and doing.

Of the three, doing has been my clear weakness.  I could make up a bunch of excuses or give reasonable justifications for why I have not done things I haven’t done in my life, but upon reflection they usually seem shallow or embarrassing.  Why didn’t I lift weights harder or work on my ball handling and shooting more when I played high school basketball?  Why didn’t I speak up when my friends said things to, or about, people when I knew it was wrong?  I can think of more, but the point is that I want to start doing more of the things I think I should do.  Its not that I haven’t done good things in my life.  Its mostly that I have allowed fear, ambivalence, or comfort to stop me from taking some risks and chances and that needs to change.  I read a quote last week from Ben Franklin that said, “Well done is better than well said.”  So that’s where I am.  I want to develop my capacities and abilities in thought and in love, but I want to build on those things with action.  Whereas my thoughts and dreams are ambitious, I need to do things that match that high standard.

While I think it will serve many positive purposes, I mostly hope that starting this blog will be the first step towards more doing.  Before I end this post, I want to note that even though I can’t come close to typing as fast as the words come to mind, I am going to try and write down the words only as they come and not go back and edit what I said.  Not only is that easier for me, I figure that will be just another way for you to understand me too.  Anyway, thanks for reading and I look forward to whatever is in store ahead.  Oh yeah…my name is Matt.

3 responses

  1. Judy Yaron

    Gary Zukov explains that everything we think, say and/or do derives from either love or fear. Love is easy to identify. Fear is more complicated because it has many guises: anger, indifference, sarcasm, paralysis, etc.

    This distinction has been a guiding force in my life. I use it to examine my own thoughts, words and actions. I also use it to better understand the words and actions of others. Once I strip their words and actions of the externals, it is easier to reach out to them. Unlike anger, indifference and other guises, naked fear arouses compassion.

    You, dear Matt, are an inspiration – to think more, to love more, to do more and … to blog more 🙂 Will tell you about that some other time. Thank you

    August 5, 2011 at 12:03 am

  2. Joseph

    Matt, Thank you for sharing! Very thoughtful.

    August 16, 2011 at 6:11 pm

    • Thanks for taking the time to read Joseph. 🙂

      August 16, 2011 at 6:35 pm

Leave a Reply

